My year in Scotland

After graduating from high school I went to study abroad in Edinburgh, Scotland, where I saw  amazing places and made plenty of new memories. Here are the pictures!

IMG_0035

Highlands during springtime.

IMG_1458

Back of the castle in Edinburgh.

IMG_1481

Clock made of flowers in Princes’ Street Gardens, Edinburgh.

IMG_1452

Scottish National Portrait Gallery in Edinburgh.

IMG_1451

Sherlock Holmes statue in Edinburgh.

IMG_1453

One of my favourite street signs in the Old Town, Edinburgh.

IMG_1466

Bookshop with this sign.

IMG_1454

Inveraray Castle in Agryll; one of the locations for Downton Abbey Season 3 Christmas Special, house of the fictional MacClare family.

IMG_1456

Poster with Mary Poppins musical, which was on tour in UK. I saw it in the Festival Theatre, Edinburgh and it was purely mesmerizing.

IMG_1469

Festival Theatre, at the time when Mary Poppins was there.

scottish-ballet-cinderella-2-large_trans++LqyfQGdl3mAr9NzcrvA2J7AocpkOWdStzj10K5gj2sM

Another thing I saw at Festival Theatre was Cinderella ballet. (Obviously you couldn’t take pictures, so this is a photo taken from telegraph.co.uk)

IMG_1467

Doctor Who’s Tardis in Glasgow.

IMG_1483

13661957_1268551239845539_3481351528139850076_o

Views from the Arthur’s Seat, a magnificent mountain right in the heart of Scotland’s capital.

IMG_1120Typical Nando’s food, the British meme king.

IMG_1470

One of my favourite parts of being in UK was (is, and probably always will be) Waterstones.

IMG_1468

National Gallery in Edinburgh.

IMG_1484IMG_1485

Rosslyn Chapel, also a filming location: this time for The Da Vinci Code.

IMG_1482

One of the typical pubs in the old town, Edinburgh.

13908819_1268553186512011_4495412520767968434_oIMG_1488

Swan lake in Edinburgh.

IMG_1487

Buchanan Street, Glasgow.

IMG_1486

Scottish Disney princess, Merida, in Disney Store in Glasgow.

Overall, my stay in Scotland consisted of an amplitude of emotions: from being incredibly excited to embark on an adventure and move to UK, starting university, meeting people from all around the world, seeing and experiencing new things and places to homesickness, being unsure of the future, who am I and what my dreams are, as well as being alone for quite a lot of time. But when you think about it, I believe that as long as you don’t do anything against yourself, it’s great to try and do new things; they may be terrifying, but new memories are usually really worth it. My plans have changed and I’m going to continue my studies in Poland, but I’m happy with what I did and am proud of myself. Now it’s time for new adventures and I can’t wait to find out what’s in store for me!

Hope you enjoyed this post, which happens to be my first, as there are more to come very soon!

Karolina

Leave a Reply

