Inveraray Castle

In May 2016 I visited Inveraray castle. Here are my thoughts!

I already mentioned going there, but such a beautiful place truly deserves a separate post. The castle is placed in western Scotland, on the shore of Loch Fyne (about 1,5 hour away from Glasgow by bus). I went there twice, once when I first visited Scotland in 2013 (although then I didn’t see the inside of the castle, neither the gardens), the second time during my year abroad, mostly because I wanted to see the place where one of the Christmas specials of Downton Abbey was shot. (Little spoiler alert: remember that beautiful, yet incredibly heartbreaking  final for season 3, when Crawleys paid a visit to the MacClares? That’s the place, the Duneagle castle!) In the series, it is home of Lady Rose (played by my favourite actress Lily James) and her parents, but in real life it is an ancerstral home of Duke of Agryll.

IMG_1768IMG_1866

The place from the scene with Anna, Bates and Lady Rose.

IMG_1868

First look at the castle. (If you ever go there, do not forget to get your tickets from a little booth in the parking lot – even if you bought them online, like me, you still have to get a physical copy in a form of receipt.)

IMG_1772

The entrance.

Pictures from the inside:

IMG_1774

IMG_1782IMG_1777

IMG_1786

IMG_1795IMG_1790

IMG_1797

IMG_1821

A blurry picture of a picture of Dame Maggie Smith as Dowager Countess, Violet Crawley.

IMG_1865

The view from the garden.IMG_1857

The daffodil – a symbol of British spring.

IMG_1850IMG_1851

This is a bridge that you need to cross to get to the town and the castle, both called Inveraray.

Also, you can go for a walk to see the town nearby, from where you can have a marvelous view at the loch.

IMG_1873IMG_1878

It was a really nice trip, as I always like to see places I first saw in the movies/TV series. Hope you like this post!

Karolina

One thought on “Inveraray Castle

Leave a Reply

